Curtain Raiser of the 3rd Edition of Young Chef Olympiad


India Hosts 50 countries for a Culinary Competition

Bengaluru, 17th Jan 2017: The 3rd Edition of Young Chef Olympiad, conceptualized and executed by IIHM, will be held in India from 27th Jan to 2nd Feb 2017. The international cooking contest is supported by Ministry of Tourism, Government of India and will have over 50 countries competing.

YCO was created as a platform by noted hospitality school, IIHM, for young chefs-in-training from around the world to interact and showcase their talent. The previous two editions saw an increasingly positive response from the international hospitality community. The event is now considered a benchmark for hospitality students around the world.

The 3rd edition, which will be held across Delhi, Bengaluru, Pune and Kolkata, will see schools such as Le Roches Jin Jang (China), Cardiff & Vale College (Wales),UCB Birmingham (England) and many more, which can be viewed at are competing for the YCO title and a cash prize of $10,000.

The event was attended by Chef Abhijit SahaFounding Director & Chef of Avant Garde Hospitality P. Ltd, Chef Shaun KenworthyCulinary Director- IIHM Hotel School, Mrs. Shalini Khanna Charles, Director, IIHM Bengaluru  & Mr. Suresh Hinduja, an acclaimed food critic.

(L to R) Chef Shaun Kenworthy, Mr. Suresh Hinduja, Mrs. Shalini Khanna Charles and Chef Abhijit Saha

Chef Shaun, who is the Culinary Director for IIHM, introduced the media to YCO 2017 – the world’s largest culinary competition for hospitality students.

Chef Saha, who is one of the technical judges for YCO 2017, explained the metrics of judgement and the basis on which the contestants will be measured.

The 3rd Edition of YCO, 2017 has over 50 countries competing for the YCO Trophy and a cash prize of $10,000. The event, which is supported by the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, will be held in Delhi, Pune, Bangalore and Kolkata.

Chef Shaun Kenworthy also demonstrated styling of a savoury and dessert during the curtain raiser.

Further details about the event are mentioned below.

The event, which will be inaugurated in Talkatora Stadium, Delhi on 28th Jan, followed by the second round in Bengaluru. Among the highlights of YCO 2017 are:

  • Logan Guleff, winner of Masterchef Junior 2014, will be YCO 2017’s Celebrity Mascot. He will be visiting India for first time.
  • Chef Sanjeev Kapoor will be YCO 2017’s Brand ambassador, principal judge and YCO mentor.
  • Celebrity Chefs such as Chef Ranveer Brar, Chef Parminder Singh Bali, Chef Kunal Kapur will be a part of judging panel
  • Prof. David Foskett, (OBE) (Author of bestselling book Practical Cookery & Theory of Catering) will be the Chairman of the Jury
  • Bengaluru’s own Chef Abhijit Saha will be a technical judge for all four rounds of the event
  • Around 30 countries will be visiting Bengaluru for the second round, who will cordially received with a traditional Indian welcome ceremony.
  • 23 year old Puja Mishra, a student of IIHM, Kolkata will be the representative of India in the competition this year.

Dr. Suborno Bose, the chief mentor and CEO of IIHM and the IndiSmart Group said, “YCO was conceptualised to bring together the international hospitality schools and provide its students an opportunity to interact and learn from other cultures. We are humbled by the great response across the world. YCO is an important event in the international hospitality industry, and has gained recognition from a tourism perspective as well. We are waiting to see who takes away the trophy this year!”

DANIELLA GERMOND of Niagara College, Canadian Food and Wine Institute won the previous edition of YCO in 2016, and the first edition was won by Ashwin from Taylor University Malaysia.

YCO 2017: Format & Judges

YCO 2017 will be held in four phases. The event commences with an opening Ceremony at Talkatora Indoor Stadium on 27th January, New Delhi. The first round will be held in Delhi on 28th January 2017, followed by second in Bengaluru and Pune, and final round is scheduled in Kolkata.

The panel of judges will be headed Professor David Foskett,, there will also be Chef Boris Leung and Chef Andreas Muller from Hong Kong,  Chef Udo Leick from Dubai,  Chef, Chef Kunal Kapur, Chef Karen Anand, Chef Abhijit Saha Chef Parminder Singh Bali, Chef Ajay Chopra and  several others.

Competitors will undertake 3 rounds with differing culinary challenges and at the end of which the 10 contestants with the highest aggregate score from all 3 rounds will go through to the Final round.

All rounds will be marked on culinary skills and techniques, adherence to good health and safety and hygiene practice, working methods, minimal waste and best use of ingredients, professional appearance, attitude, dish presentation, taste and flavor.

The competition will feature 2 sets of judges for each round. One set will be marking on the technical and production element and the other set of judges will be marking on the presentation, taste, flavour and culinary knowledge.

The winner will be awarded a cash prize of $10,000 and the YCO Trophy.

About IIHM:

International Institute of Hotel Management (IIHM), founded in 1994, is a part of the IndiSmart Group. The group is a large conglomerate that operates the IndiSmart Hotels and offers a wide range of services in the field of Hospitality Management Education Training & Consultancy in India as well as the South East Asia. Today, the Institute is the largest Hotel School Chain that leads in the field of International Hospitality Management Education in India with campuses at Kolkata, Delhi, Pune, Bangalore, Jaipur, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad and KBU Bangkok in the capital city in Thailand. 

IIHM was the first collegiate program in the country offering discerning students the opportunity to be trained in globally recognized skills and earn an International Degree in Hospitality Management through its collaboration with The Edinburgh Napier University, UK and tie-up with University of West London.

A Video of YCO 2016:

Leave a Reply